International Workshop

18-19 June 2014, Senate House

Workshop Programme (also available here)
Supported by the BSPS and the Marie Curie Probabilities, Propensities and Conditionals Project

Wed 18 June, G35

3.15-3.55: Registration and Coffee

3.55-4.00: Introduction to the Workshop

Session I: Chair: Mauricio Suárez (Institute of Philosophy London)
4.00-5.15: Jenann Ismael (Arizona) “On Chance”
5.15-6.30: Richard Pettigrew (Bristol) “What Chance-Credence Norms Should Be”

Thurs 19 June, Room 349

Session II: Chair: Luke Glynn (University College London)
9.00-10.15am: Roman Frigg (LSE) and Carl Hoefer (Western Ontario): “The Best Humean System for Statistical Mechanics”

10.15-10.45: Coffee Break

Session III: Chair: Jenann Ismael (Arizona)
10.45-12.00: Seamus Bradley (Munich): “Non-Probabilistic Chance”
12.00-13.15 Nina Emery (Brown): “Chance as Explanation”

To register: RSVP to philosophy@sas.ac.uk with “Chance Conditionals 18-19 June acceptance” in the subject header

For further information please contact the convener of the workshop Mauricio Suarez at: Mauricio.suarez@sas.ac.uk.


Sponsored and Funded by the British Society for the Philosophy of Science, and the European Commission under a personal Marie-Curie grant to Prof. Dr. Mauricio Suárez (Complutense University of Madrid): Project number: 329430 “ProbPropCond” FP7-PEOPLE-2012-IEF